Road to Self love: How I became at peace with who I am

Pretty much in a world we live in. I, as a human being, have a lot of struggles I’m battling every single day. I have my insecurities, doubts, and fear.

A road to self discovery, it was every young adult today’s greatest stuggles. When I was young, I have a perfect plan of my future. I was around 12 when I decided being a doctor is my passion. That was after I chose from being a teacher, a fashion designer, a reporter and so much more to go on with my lists. It was funny how I thought of all those professions as if it was just a multiple choice question, you just choose and be done with it.

10 years fast forward and here I am, still travelling that road of self discovery and I find it quite difficult most of the times. And it wasn’t a constant road, it is ever changing and so does our lives. One choice led to another path, far different from if you choose the other one.

But you know what makes it fun? Aside from the struggles, there are alot of learnings as well. And from that learnings, you acquire more pieces to put your own identity together.

This makes each one of us a work in progress. A lovely artwork made to fulfill his/her final touch to contribute a great masterpiece. So if you are struggling right now, know that it will not remain that way. You are being stretched to be the best version of yourself. As I always says, trust the journey. Learn from the bumps and the detours. Experience is key. You may not know now but it could be your greatest setback for a far greater comeback. Always believe in yourself!

When I was so young, I was an overthinker. I always think things through. Like, how I’ll talk to other people, what I would say, how I’ll walk, smile.. to much overthinking I often get anxieties too.

I remember having fast heart beats and slight asthma attacks when I got too nervous. And I wouldn’t tell anyone. Not my mom, my dad or my brothers and sisters. I trusted myself to handle the pain of anxiety.

It was painfully long before I got at peace with that part of myself. The overthinker, sensitive and easily-angered side of me. And you know what sets me free from that? ACCEPTANCE.

When I started accepting who I really am, I started realizing what I can and cannot do. I knew I can get past through my anxieties, and I did. I knew I can lose weight, and you know what, from a 71 kilo I get down to 65. I knew I can graduate and at 2018, I did. I knew I had the passion for blogging, I pursued it now and I have 400 plus hits on my blogs.

Every single doubts I planted in my head, I conquered by faith. Not only for myself but also faith for God who never abandon me.

It was a long and winding journey but its your choice to go down that path. It will all start with a good mindset.

I wish you all have something from this post. It is very personal but I do know that exposing myself to all of you may encourage someone experiencing the same. Always remember that you are not the only one struggling. Be passionate in finding who you truly are. πŸ’› it will be a long journey ahead but pls know we’re all in this together πŸ’˜πŸ’ž

a video to inspire πŸ±πŸ’ž

Xoxo,

Merryl Ann

πŸ€—LET’S BE FRIENDSπŸ€—

πŸ¦„ Social media accounts:

πŸŽ†Instagram: @iammerrylann

πŸŽ†Facebook: Merryl Ann Tan

πŸŽ†Twitter: @Rryl_Me

Author: Merryl Ann Tan

Dreamcatcher/pursuer of dreams

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RRYLTAKESPHOTOS

let's make good memories!

The Peridot of August

Work Hard, Dream Big

FARAH PINKLADY

Beauty & Lifestyle Blogger

THE BLOGGING STATION

LIFESTYLE, BEAUTY AND EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN

tuva’s world

travel & lifestyle blog

Mummy Moments

A New Mum’s honest experiences and thoughts

πŸ‘£ Helen's Journey πŸ‘£

Green Living & Natural Product Reviews / Wellness / Positivity / Chronic Illness / My Poetry / My Faith / My Life Lessons & more...

KPOP Jacket Lady

KDrama and KPOP Concert Reviews, Travel Tips, Korean Recipes and more

MY WALL

Poems & Photographs

writing to freedom

words to inspire and empower

the wolves of war

trust the instinct.