Tearing down Insecurities and Building Confidence

” You’ll never be good enough”

“You won’t be able to do that”

“You’re such a failure”


Living in this world unsure of who you are, what you can and be able to do, is undeniably the most  painful thing in this world. Unfortunately, a lot of people does not only add salt to these wounds but also planted seeds of doubt on others. Making it worst than it should be. 

Being a teenager and growing up with the heightened expectation of the society is a big obstacle. I say obstacle not just to beautify this sentence but also to emphasize that it is difficult. HARD. You either fall and get up or fall and stay low. This is the struggle that a lot of us has gone through at one point in life. Maybe it is something that you are also experiencing right now. And today, I would like to tell you that it is something that you should get over with and conquer.

As I grow up, I learned that in a lot of ways, people would like to state their opinion. Either in a good way or in a bad way. I cannot say that it is okay since there is what we call freedom of expression or freedom of speech. Yes those human rights exists. But there are some who certainly abuse these rights and deliberately hurt others with their words. Not realizing that words are knives that can cut through souls is one of our too-many-to-mention shortcomings.

I cannot say that I am perfect and I know that I am so far from that, but I come to realize a lot about myself this year and some of it, I want to share to all of you who, from the deepest corner of their hearts, have been experiencing a lot of pain. Pain brought by others, pain brought by their selves. INSECURITIES.

That pain may be brought by a lot of experiences, words or situation in your life that doesn’t turn out to be what you wanted. Either way, it hurts you like hell. When I was in a situation so much like yours, I experienced a lot of indecision. Mainly because most of the opinions are from different people. People who may be similar to me and sometimes worse, a lot different from my own personality. As I come to my way of building confidence, I came to realize that choosing which opinions work best for you helps in a lot of ways. There are some people who really cares and would give constructive criticism to make you a lot better and those, for me, are the people who matters. I know, they are difficult to find but I honestly suggest not to look farther. You have your family and close friends who are there to fulfill that role. All you have to do is ask and trust what they say.

In life, there will be a lot of things to come to you, a lot of bulbs you will encounter. But I suggest that you should pick the bulbs that emits just enough light to brigthen your way and not those who might burn your eyes. This is practically applicable when it comes to building confidence. Know what opinion of others are of good will. Do not focus much on the ranting and the destructive criticisms. It will only crash you down and nothing comes good out of it.

Love yourself. This is what Justin bieber’s popular song has been advocating on a lot of the beliebers. There may not be a lot of things to agree about the man but the song delicately touch a subject that we all should open our eyes with. Yes, there are so many needles that could pop your balloon of confidence anytime but I do believe that shielding yourself from the constant pricking others throw in your way helps a lot in saving that balloon. Anyway, you only have one goal. Do not ever let it pop. Because confidence, just like the metaphor I used, could easily pop and fly away. And once its popped, it will be hard or even impossible to bring back. So if you ever feel like there are too much thorns around you, too much negative things thrown in your way, too much destructive opinions, shield yourself. Try telling yourself soothing words like..

“It’s okay. Just do your best.”

“You can do it”

“You’re good! “


Do not be harsh on yourself. Build up confidence from the inside first. Trust your capabilities. Others may not see it yet but it’s there. We all have our own talents. It’s just a matter of time and discovery.

Lastly, open yourself. Wherever or whatever bad situation you have or you’re in, always find a way to crack your miserable thinking and always look for a way out. You have something special up on your sleeves. All you have to do is get out of those negative thinking, get out of that shell other people put you in. Be whoever you want to be and be better. It’s just a matter of thinking. What your mind perceives, it happens. Think of what you want to be and be it. You will never build confidence if you will not work on it yourself. Be vigorous about it. Strive hard!

There is a saying that tells us, ” If you don’t like where you are, move! You are not a tree!”. Yes, you are absolutely not a tree. You can get out of it. Yes, you could. Just take the first step and the other, and another step. Until you are far from your past and you are who you want to be in the future.

So That’s it! And that’s all for now. Those are my thoughts regarding building confidence. Hope I helped in a little way. 🙂 I would like to know how you feel. 🙂 We can definitely have some small talks in the comment section below.. thank you and love you guys! 💕❤💖💗

Xoxo,

Merryl Ann

P.s

Follow me on my social media accounts:

Instagram: @iammerrylann

Twitter: @queenstar_ann

Facebook: Merryl Ann Tan

it’s not much but I always follow back for sure! Let’s be instabuddies 👋😂😂 and also on twitter, 😙😙😙😙
Would also be happy if you could write down on the comments below.:) would love to interact with my co bloggers and share ideas with each other 💕 leave your link below so I could follow too. 😘

Author: Merryl Ann Tan

Dreamcatcher/pursuer of dreams

4 thoughts on “Tearing down Insecurities and Building Confidence”

  1. I really like this post. I’m someone who suffered severe bullying and sometimes to this day still get abuse from other people my age. Since starting college I’ve turned my life around which was extremely difficult and daunting but many girls my age and guys are scared to do. I really want to help others and you’ve just helped me further. Thanks for this amazing post 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad I helped you with this post. This is actually an achievement for me to be able to influence other people to always face positivity. I am glad you are facing life much stronger now. Always remember that what you think shape your life so don’t ever feel down again. 💕 keep fighting and be who you want to be 😍

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RRYLTAKESPHOTOS

let's make good memories!

The Peridot of August

Work Hard, Dream Big

FARAH PINKLADY

Beauty & Lifestyle Blogger

THE BLOGGING STATION

LIFESTYLE, BEAUTY AND EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN

tuva’s world

travel & lifestyle blog

Mummy Moments

A New Mum’s honest experiences and thoughts

👣 Helen's Journey 👣

Green Living & Natural Product Reviews / Wellness / Positivity / Chronic Illness / My Poetry / My Faith / My Life Lessons & more...

KPOP Jacket Lady

KDrama and KPOP Concert Reviews, Travel Tips, Korean Recipes and more

MY WALL

Poems & Photographs

writing to freedom

words to inspire and empower

the wolves of war

trust the instinct.