Getting the Covid vaccine in the Philippines (Sinovac)

Hello guys. Its been so long since I updated my blog and I am guilty of not putting too much attention to it lately ✌️

But even so, just like my goal for writing, I have here a more informative story to feature and it is all about my experience getting the Covid vaccine (Sinovac). I know there has been a lot of controversies surrounding the availability of vaccines for Covid19 in the Philippines, mainly because after over a year of going through this pandemic, we are one of the countries in the southeast asia to be the last to get ahold of the vaccines that were available even before 2020 ends. There has been alot of doubt, fear and uncertainty that has been put in the hearts of my fellow countrymen as this year starts to unravel.

And as far as the negative stigma of the Filipinos about China, I do understand the uncertainty the masses are feeling towards the effectivity of their vaccine and the motive behind donating large amount of vaccine to our country, the Philippines. As what the press portrays and make people believe, as part of the eyes that watch the media, we were all made to second guess what this play is all about. But as far as I understand, accepting the vaccines that are much easy to handle (storage conditions, shipping, etc) and are given free (not all but atleast a handful) is a much acceptable decision than wait for vaccines that will take too long to arrive and has a much critical (storage conditions, shipping, etc) and more expensive to avail. Remember that these vaccines are given for free by the government and as far as our population goes, we are hundred of millions that are waiting to be vaccinated.

As I look closer into a lot of researches,I come upon the information regarding Sinovac and here is what I have gathered:

Link of full article: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-asia-china-55212787

Just like what I am saying, Sinovac, is much easier to store with only a required storage condition at 2-8°c while Moderna requires a -20°c and Pfizer at -70°c. Being someone who works in a laboratory, I know that meeting the storage conditions of Moderna and Pfizer is too costly and may not be a good investment.Because on top of availing the vaccine, the government would have additional costs for obtaining ultralow freezers and medical freezers that can cost millions. It wouldn’t be hard to say that the government will lose a lot of money with no return since they are giving the vaccines for free.

Yes, in terms of efficiency, here is a tabulated data for clear comparison:

link of full article: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-asia-china-55212787

Okay, so with these data, I hope you guys would consider getting vaccinated too. 50% protection is better than nothing at all. To reiterate more my experience here are some photos I took when I got the vaccine.

Let me explain the pictures and tell what my experience was during that day. 😘 So, I got my vaccine on March 4,2021, Thursday afternoon, 3pm at Sta. Ana Hospital. Upon arrival, we were already holding our waiver because we already presigned at a link (https://www.manilacovid19vaccine.com/home.php) and printed a copy. After showing the waiver, we were asked to fall in line for the first step:

1. we were checked for blood pressure and other vital signes before proceeding with the next step. I was personally interviewed by a doctor there and was instructed of the do’s and don’ts after getting the vaccine. Also, you will be asked if you had any severe allergic reactions to any drug or vaccines and etc. The doctor will check for your history.

2. they checked if we are already pre registered and validate the information we provide on the link. once everything is validated we proceed on getting the vaccine.

3. the vaccination was quite easy. I personally didnt feel any pain while they are administering the vaccine. here’s the actual video:

after the shot,you can feel kinda sleepy. some people I know felt dizzy for a short time. but other than that, I didn’t have any symptoms. ☺️ its been two days and no other adverse effects on me. 😁

Eventhough I have the vaccine,I still use facemasks and faceshield whenever I’m at work or going out in public places. Since not everyone has the vaccine,it will be safe for you and for the people around you if we still stick to the protocol. Again,pls consider getting the vaccine. It is our only door to ease into getting back tonormal again. Little by little,let’s extend our hands together and help the government in fighting this pandemic. ❤️❤️

That’s all I’d like to share. the choice is still up to you folks! But pls choose wisely and with consideration for others❣️❣️❣️

ps. always do things with love ❤️

socials:
blog: http://www.iammerrylann.wordpress.com
instagram: @iammerrylann
facebook: Merryl Ann Tan

Author: Merryl Ann Tan

Dreamcatcher/pursuer of dreams

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RRYLTAKESPHOTOS

let's make good memories!

The Peridot of August

Work Hard, Dream Big

FARAH PINKLADY

Beauty & Lifestyle Blogger

THE BLOGGING STATION

LIFESTYLE, BEAUTY AND EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN

tuva’s world

travel & lifestyle blog

Mummy Moments

A New Mum’s honest experiences and thoughts

👣 Helen's Journey 👣

Green Living & Natural Product Reviews / Wellness / Positivity / Chronic Illness / My Poetry / My Faith / My Life Lessons & more...

KPOP Jacket Lady

KDrama and KPOP Concert Reviews, Travel Tips, Korean Recipes and more

MY WALL

Poems & Photographs

writing to freedom

words to inspire and empower

the wolves of war

trust the instinct.